Amoeba retains Sprint Series Trophy

Amoeba, James Donnelly’s East Coast 31, has retained the HRYC Sprint Series Trophy with a perfect record of three heat wins. Amoeba also won the inaugural 2014-15 Sprint Series. Runner up was Terry Dorrough’s BB10, Crossbow.

The 2015-6 Series was decided over the three races in the first Saturday in November. Races 4, 5 and 6 were abandoned due to a BOM thunderstorm alert in January. Contested in a 15 knot Southerly, the East Coast 31 enjoyed her preferred weather putting in three strong windward performances.

Crossbow and All Our Girls were engaged in a tight tussle for line honours. At the end of race 2, both had won a race each. Crossbow won the decider by just a few seconds – after both boats struggled with strengthening wind conditions on the run to the finish line. Crossbow won line honours and All Our Girls took first place on CBH.